Air Marshal DC Kumaria took over as the Air Officer Commanding-in-Chief, Western Air Command (WAC) at Subroto Park in New Delhi. Commissioned as a fighter pilot in the Flying Branch of the Indian Air Force on July 2, 1973, Air Marshal Kumaria is a graduate of Defence Services Staff College (DSSC). Air Marshal Kumaria was awarded Vayu Sena Medal in 1983, Vishisht Seva Medal in 1996 and Ati Vishisht Seva Medal in 2007 for his distinguished service of high order.
Lt Gen AK Singh, General Officer Commanding of a prestigious Strike Corps on the western front, has been promoted to the coveted rank of General Officer Commanding-in-Chief. The General Officer is a graduate from Staff College, Camberley, UK and the prestigious National Defence College in Delhi. He has also attended prestigious courses in Russia and Sweden. He has been awarded the Ati Vishisht Seva Medal, Vishisht Seva Medal and Sena Medal for his distinguished contributions to the service.
Maj Gen Pranab Chakraborty assumed the appointment of Additional Director General of the Army Educational Corps (AEC). He also became the Colonel Commandant of the corps on assumption of the charge. He is one of the pioneers who automated officers management system at Military Secretary Branch. He graduated from College of Defence Management after attending Long Defence Management Course (LDMC).
Rear Admiral HCS Bisht has been appointed Flag Officer Commanding, Eastern Fleet. Commissioned into the Navy in July 1979, Admiral Bisht is a Gunnery and Missile specialist. His afloat tenures include commands of Stealth Frigate Tabar, missile corvette Kora and Fleet Gunnery Officer, Eastern Fleet.
Deputy Inspector General Birender Singh Yadav has assumed the charge of Commander, Coast Guard Region(NW) Gandhi Nagar. The officer joined Indian Coast Guard on February 4, 1980. Specialised in naval communication, the officer has held several coveted appointments, both afloat and ashore. For his distinguished service, the officer has been awarded the prestigious President's Tatarakshak Medal.
Cmde Sanjeev Kale took over the command of INS Valsura, the premier Electrical Training Establishment of the Indian Navy. Commissioned into Indian Navy on August 1, 1983, Cmde Sanjeev Kale is an alumnus of IIT Kharagpur and College of Naval Warfare. An officer with varied experiences, he has held major appointments onboard major warships of the Indian Navy. The officer was awarded Vishisht Seva Medal in 2001.
Air Cmde RN Gaekwad took over the command of Air Force Station, Jodhpur. He joined the IAF in 1984 and was commissioned in the fighter stream in 1985. He has been one of the first pilots to land an MiG 23 BN fighter in Leh. He has also held an important appointment of Ops-IA at Command HQ and performed exceptionally well for which he was awarded Vishisht Seva Medal.
inputs : Flt Lt Priya Joshi, Lt Col Sanjay Kumar Mishra, Col AK Tiwari, Cdr Roy Francis, Aashish Pillania, Parichay Kalra and Lt Col NN Joshi