| | | |
Sainik samachar
  • A-
  • A+
  • A

Western Command Investiture Ceremony - 2023 



हर काम देश के नाम

Western Command Investiture Ceremony - 2023 

Amritsar: 11 Mar 2023


Indian Army's Western Command honoured its gallant and distinguished soldiers and units at a grand Investiture Ceremony held at New Amritsar Military Station, Punjab on 11 Mar 2023 at Hayde ground. The solemn ceremony was organised by the Panther Division of Vajra Corps on behalf of the Western Command. The awardees were felicitated for their exceptional bravery, commendable devotion to duty and distinguished service to the nation. Western Command is one of the largest commands of Indian Army and responsible for operations along the country's Western borders including parts of Jammu & Kashmir.


Lieutenant General Nav K Khanduri, PVSM, AVSM, VSM, General Officer Commanding-in-Chief, Western Command presided over the ceremony and felicitated the awardees. Sepoy Amardeep Singh was awarded Sena Medal Gallantry, Posthumously. The award was received by his father Shri Manjeet Singh on his behalf. Total awards presented included one Yudh Seva Medal, 23 Sena Medals for Gallantry, six Sena Medals for distinguished service and nine Vishist Seva Medals. Seven Chief of The Army Staff Unit Appreciations and  25 General Office Commanding-In-Chief, Western Command Unit Appreciations were also awarded to the units for their outstanding performance. The indomitable spirit and courage of each valiant soldier when read out during the event made hearts of all present swell with pride and gratitude.

Speaking on the occasion, the General Officer Commanding-in-Chief congratulated all the awardees and recipients of unit citations and exhorted all ranks to emulate the awardees and give their best to make the nation proud of its Army. The Army Commander later interacted with the award winners and their families and acknowledged their invaluable contribution in upholding the highest traditions of the Indian Army.

 A large number of senior officers, distinguished dignitaries and proud family members of the award winners attended the event.


  1. Gagandeep Kaur
  2. PRO (Def) Jalandhar
  3. Mob No 9417259904